Governor Ducey Appointed Co-Chair Of The Bipartisan Council Of Governors

News Release

August 13, 2020

Ducey Replaces Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson As The Council’s Republican Co-Chair

PHOENIX⁠ — President Donald Trump announced he will designate Governor Doug Ducey as Co-Chair of the Council of Governors. The Council serves as a bipartisan forum for governors and the administration to discuss critical issues affecting states and the federal government, especially matters pertaining to the National Guard, homeland defense and defense support to civil authorities, and advise on policy direction.

“I am honored to continue my work on the Council of Governors as co-chair,” said Governor Ducey. “Prioritizing the Council is just one of the many ways the Trump Administration has facilitated strong partnerships with the states and given Arizona a seat at the table on the issues that matter most. I am grateful for the opportunity to help lead dialogue on these important issues and look forward to further collaboration and success working alongside our federal partners.”

The Council of Governors includes ten governors (five from each party), the secretaries of the Departments of Defense and Homeland Security, the president’s homeland security and counterterrorism advisors, the commander of U.S. Northern Command, the commandant of the Coast Guard and the chief of the National Guard Bureau among other federal officials.

Governor Ducey has served on the Council of Governors since 2019. He will take over as Republican Co-chair, a position previously held by Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson who is leaving the Council. The White House announced Wednesday that the Council’s 10th governor slot will be filled by Governor Bill Lee of Tennessee.

Members of the Council include new Co-Chair Governor Doug Ducey, Co-Chair Hawaii Governor David Ige, Governor Bill Lee of Tennessee (to be appointed), Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont, Illinois Governor J.B. Pritzker, Minnesota Governor Tim Walz, Missouri Governor Mike Parson, Montana Governor Steve Bullock, Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts and Ohio Governor Mike DeWine.