Governor Ducey Announces New Appointments To Boards And Commissions

News Release

July 17, 2020

PHOENIX — Governor Doug Ducey today announced 35 appointments to boards and commissions throughout the state, including the Arizona Board of Regents, Arizona Racing Commission and more. A board or commission is an independent body consisting of members who are appointed by public officials. 

“Even in a pandemic, we need to keep our civic processes moving forward and ensure that government is fulfilling its responsibility to its citizens,” said Governor Ducey. “Today’s appointees each bring unique experience, judgement and expertise to their roles, and I’m thankful for their commitment to serving Arizonans.” 

Arizona Board Of Regents 

The Governor appointed Arizona State University student Nikhil Dave to the Arizona Board of Regents (ABOR). ABOR is the governing body of Arizona's public university system, providing policy guidance to Arizona State University, Northern Arizona University, University of Arizona and their branch campuses. Nikhil will serve as a Student Regent on the Board.

Nikhil is going into his junior year at Arizona State University. He is a Flinn Scholar majoring in Neuroscience and Innovation in Society and plans to pursue a Master of Science and Technology Policy. He was High School Valedictorian at Horizon Honors High School. 

Arizona Racing Commission

The Governor appointed Jana Propheter and Holly Hover to the Arizona Racing Commission. The Commission regulates and supervises racing and pari-mutuel/simulcast wagering.

Jana Propheter is the Assistant Field Research Manager for Metrostudy, a housing data provider. In her role, she recruits and trains surveyors and analyzes data for quarterly reports. She has worked with and owned horses and ponies for 30 years. Jana earned a Bachelor of Science in Food and Nutrition from Arizona State University.

Holly Hover is the manager and trainer of Holly Hover Performance Horses in Cave Creek. In her role, she specializes in the preparation of youth and amateur competitors. In 2015, she was named Most Valuable Professional for the American Quarter Horse and was named Professional Horsewoman of the Year in 2017. Holly volunteers her time in the community and most recently served as the 2019 Head Western Coach for the Arizona State University Equestrian Team.

Commission on Appellate Court Appointments

The Commission on Appellate Court Appointments is one of the five Arizona Judicial Nominating Commissions. The commission members evaluate applicants for vacant judicial positions and make nominations to the state’s appellate courts, the Arizona Supreme Court, and the Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission. 

The Governor made three public member appointments and three attorney appointments:

Public Member Positions (party affiliation, county of residence)

  • Kevin Taylor (Democrat, Pinal County)

  • Jaime Chamberlain (Republican, Santa Cruz County)

  • James Zieler (Democrat, Apache County)

Attorney Positions (party affiliation, county of residence)

  • Ammon Barker (Democrat, Coconino County)

  • Daniel Seiden (Republican, Maricopa County)

  • Tina Vannucci (Independent, Pinal County)

Arizona State Rehabilitation Advisory Council 

The Governor appointed Twyla Bowman, Jill Sherman Pleasant, Adam Robson and Lisa Livsay to the Arizona State Rehabilitation Advisory Council. The mission of the Council is to advise, evaluate and partner with the public vocational rehabilitation program in support of improving access to employment and promoting a diverse workforce statewide.

Groundwater Users Advisory Councils

The Governor appointed Stephen Bales, Stephen Miller, James Holt, Leslie Graser, John Munderloh, Val Little, Pat Jacobs and Douglas Greenland. The Councils provides advice and recommendations to the Active Management Area (AMA) Director on the groundwater management programs and policies within the AMA. 

Emergency Medical Services Council

The Governor appointed Glenn Kasprzyk and Robert Costello to the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council. The Council recommends to the Arizona Department of Health Services Director the adoption of the following standards: statewide standardized training and certification standards for all classifications of EMTs; standardized testing procedures; medical standards for certification of training programs; standards for certification of emergency receiving facilities including ALS base hospitals.

Other Appointments 

Additional appointments made today include: 

  • Dr. Robert Robbins, State Board of Education

  • Chelsea Lett, Arizona Commission on the Arts

  • Dr. Voie Coy, Arizona Historical Society

  • Michael Edgar, Arizona Grain Research and Promotion Council

  • Raymond Zimmerman, Investment Committee for Industrial Commission

  • Paul O'Connell, Psychiatric Security Review Board

  • Robert Dubberly, State Board of Accountancy

  • Robert F. Hockensmith, Jr., State Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers

  • Matthew Randle, Veterans' Services Advisory Council

  • Susan Archer, Board of Examiners of Nursing Care Institution Administrators and Assisted Living Facility Managers

  • Abby Raddatz, Maricopa County Commission on Trial Court Appointments

  • John Smith, Pima County Commission on Trial Court Appointments