Since taking office, Governor Ducey has worked to rollback occupational licensing burdens and clear obstacles for Arizonans wanting to work.
In 2017, Governor Ducey signed HB 2372, a bill requiring state licensing boards to waive any initial licensing fees for first-time applicants from families earning less than 200 percent of the federal poverty level.
Application fees range from $60-$580 and can pose a significant hurdle to low-income applicants. By waiving fees for those in need, our state can provide a helping hand and alleviate a financial burden for those seeking work.
Since the law went into effect last year:
- Arizona’s occupational licensing boards have granted 489 fee waivers for low-income applicants;
- 84 percent of initial application fee waiver requests have been granted;
- Arizonans benefiting from fee waivers are pursuing jobs as nurses, behavioral health professionals, massage therapists, physician assistants, and other roles requiring a state license;
- 93 percent of those seeking fee waivers are aspiring nurses;
- According the U.S. Department of Labor, the average wage for a registered nurse in Arizona is $75,110.*
Still, at least three occupational licensing boards do not have a process in place to review fee waiver applications for low-income Arizonans. Governor Ducey today sent a letter to these boards asking them to follow state law and submit plans for reviewing and granting fee waivers as soon as possible.
*SOURCE: May 2017 State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Arizona, Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor.